MAX awards celebrate mineral resource industry excellence

22 November 2019

The NWT & Nunavut Chamber of Mines is pleased to announce the 2019 MAX Awards recipients, recognized for their excellence in mining and exploration in the Northwest Territories. 
MAX Award recipients have all played an enormous role in responsible and successful resource development, helping establish industry best practices, creating opportunities, and demonstrating leadership in their respective categories. Their contributions include highlighting the minerals industry, exploring for, finding and developing resources, engaging with the public and governments, ensuring Indigenous participation, creating jobs and business benefits, and training northerners, all of which strengthens the Northwest Territories.
Recipients of the 2019 MAX Awards are:  
•Distinguished Service – Walt Humphries 
•Economic Leadership – Det’on Cho Management LP
•Environmental Responsibility – Newmont Goldcorp Corporation
•Indigenous Achievement – Shayne Paul 
•Special Achievement – Hilary Jones
•Honorary Achievement – Bob McLeod
The awards, the third annual, were presented November 21 in Yellowknife at the conclusion of the 47th Annual Yellowknife Geoscience Forum. Keynote speaker for the event was Abacus Data Chairman Bruce Anderson. Special guest speaker was Government of the Northwest Territories Premier 
The Honorable Caroline Cochrane. 
The MAX Awards selection and celebration is a partnership of the Chamber of Mines and the 
Government of the Northwest Territories.
For more details on this year’s MAX awards recipients, including presentation, as well as previous years’ recipients click here. For more information on the NWT and Nunavut mining industries, please visit the Chamber of Mines website at or contact Tom Hoefer, Executive Director at Tel: 867-873-5281 or email: 
For more information about how mining works, visit